Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Banned
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking of buying ALA.UN on my line of credit (3.25%) and making the payments from the distributions of ALA.UN . I'm only thinking of $40,000 ,and its not my life savings.
The thing I like is the high div payout..
I know its not going to have the same tax breaks next year ,and there could be a rush to dump .Also interest rates may go up. Worst senario I can pay off my line of credit from other sources if I need to.. I'm new to this and just experimenting ,although $40,000 makes it kinda exciting.
Neil

·
Registered
15,839 Posts
this is a good example of the concerns canadians have been voicing for months, here in this forum, about the future of income trust distributions.

it has been almost a year since altagas announced it would cut its distribution by 40-45%. This information is buried - one might even say it is concealed - in the 4th paragraph of a routine financial announcement dated august 5, 2009.

there is no central information clearing-house that tracks or publishes what the trusts say they are going to do about their distributions once they convert. Here in this forum we can share as best we can, but for most of canada keeping abreast of this information means every man for himself.

for my own part, although altagas has not broken any securities regulations, i am nonetheless repelled by the ethics of a publicly-traded entity that would behave as set forth above. As soon as i learned this information i dropped altagas as an investment candidate and purchased arc energy and fort chicago instead.

here are the pertinent parts of paragraph 4 from ALA.UN's august 5/09 news release: