Canadian Money Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

Feels great to be part of this community and your feedback would be most appreciated. My mother today just gave me a $30 000 check for me to invest and grow for the long term. Only problem is that I'm fairly new to investing in stocks and I don't really know what stocks to buy especially during these times. I am also 38 years of age.

I currently have $10 000 in credit card debt and have a brokerage account already set up with Questrade. Does anyone have any good tips or stocks to purchase? If so, how many of each and what markets would you recommend. My friends tell me to buy Apple or Tesla since that is what everyone is talking about but I feel it might be for a short term gain. What do you think?

·
Registered
21,897 Posts
Hi there, welcome!

When you say there's 10,000 in credit card debt. Is that typically something you can pay off every month, or does the debt linger? If it lingers then I would strongly recommend using some of the gift money to pay off the debt and commit yourself to not building up large credit card balances. If you ask people on this forum you will see a pattern... most of us are extremely allergic to debts. I pay off my CC every month.

Since you're new to investing, I would strongly recommend being extremely cautious with individual stocks. It will take you a while to really learn how all of this works so keep in mind that you might make a lot of mistake in the first few years of investing. I lost a lot of money in my first few years of stock investing (many people do).

My suggestion: let's say with your 30K, you use 10K to pay off your debt and then have 20K to invest.