Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings fantastic financially frugal friends of the forum. I have been trying to get my financial house in order after recently coming to the realization that paying zero attention to my finances has been a poor strategy for the past decade or so. Of course to plan ahead I must know where I am and where I want to be in the future.

My issue is that I am having difficulty calaculating my current net worth. I am an incorporated professional (doctor/lawyer/dentist/etc) so pay myself out of my professional corporation. From my personal accounts I invest in TFSA/RRSP, pay the mortgage, etc. So that part is easy to calculate as portion of net worth. But I don't know how to value the money left in the professional corporation. I still have to pay pay corporate taxes on it throughout the year and also at the end of the year. I also must pay personal taxes when I take money out.

Anybody else in the same boat or have advise on how to calculate net worth for incorporated professionals?

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
Strictly speaking, your corporation is a separate legal entity with its own net worth. However, it is a closely controlled private corporation. In all probability, the only people who have shares in it are you, your spouse if you have one, and your children if they exist. Effectively, it will be providing you and your family with income, and you control how it invests and spends its funds. So from a practical point of view, what I do is to include the corporation in my overall net worth. There is a future tax liability attached to the corporation, but the same can be said of an RRSP.

·
Registered
10,110 Posts