Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Banned
701 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife and I have an accountant that is currently charging us $700 to do both of our taxes. Is this normal? What are other people paying?

Our taxes are fairly complicated (home office, rental income, stock portfolio) but not overly so.

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
My wife and I have an accountant that is currently charging us $700 to do both of our taxes. Is this normal? What are other people paying?

Our taxes are fairly complicated (home office, rental income, stock portfolio) but not overly so.
Around here (Newfoundland), CA's charge around $150/hr. For my wife and I, it typically costs around $400-$500.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Maybe thats a more or less reasonable charge for a complex case. However, I found found that the quality of the tax preparer really varies and that price is absolutely no indication of quality. I am an accountant by education, but I don't do much taxes by trade. However, I had a lot of friends brining me their tax returns to check over and telling me they had paid $100-$200 for their personal taxes! When I took their original slips and calculated the exact same refund in 10 minutes (for free of course), their reverence for their accountant quickly changed.

Typically the young accountants are not so experienced, but are very diligent in researching deductions when they are first starting their practice. It is critical that they build their reputation, so they tend to go the extra mile. Over time, as they get more experience of common situations, they can get a little lazy in their questions (some just print out letters with the most common information and questions rather than doing an interview) and in some cases, they are no better than H&R Block (although 5-10x the price). The more common your situation, the more likely you can find someone much cheaper if you only want to prepare and file the taxes.