Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

Well, I could just search the internet and find my answers, but I was wondering...

I'm not sure about everything I'm gonna say, it's just my interrogations before looking up for information on the internet.

Let's say 1 USD = 1.35 CAD and 1 EUR = 1.55 CAD. Therefore, to be fair, 1 EUR = 1.15 USD.

Now, how does this moves up and down? Because let's say I'm a trader with a huge amount of CAD and I think that USD is worth more, so I buy 1 USD at 1.40 CAD. Does this make the USD go up or the CAD go down?

I asked myself the difference between USD going up vs CAD going down? Well, if my trade has made the value of USD go up, then people with EUR wanting to buy USD will have to pay more, meanwhile people buying EUR with CAD will pay the same. Though, if my trade has made the value of CAD go down, then people with EUR wanting to buy USD will pay the same, meanwhile people buying EUR with CAD will have to pay more.

I haven't slept enough lately, maybe I'm missing something obvious...

Thanks.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks but I still don't get the math because what's particular with currency trading is that they are all related one to the other and a single trade is both viewed as buying & selling at the same time.

In stock trading, if I buy AAPL, it doesn't affect AMZN. If I buy a stock at a higher price than its current market price, the stock value increases and all holders of the stock can now sell at a higher price. It's bullish on the stock value. It's easy to understand.