Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Banned
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I tried to post this earlier but it never showed up. I apologize if it shows up twice!

I am just starting out and in need of some direction. I have read most of the recommended books, blogs, etc. and now I just feel overwhelmed. I really hope you guys can help me 'get started' as I don't really know where to begin.

My situation is really simple and I haven't done any financial planning at all.

What I want to do:

- I am looking to purchase a condo or whatever I can afford (living in Vancouver makes it next to impossible! especially since I make nothing) in 3-5 years with a 20% down payment.

- I would like to start investing my money

- Open an RRSP - but I am not sure if I should because of my low income.

About Me:

City: Vancouver, BC
Salary: $38,700 (non-profit. so low I know!) (After tax, I take home $2600/month)
Savings: $8000 (sitting in a regular TD savings acct)
Debt: $0
Rent: $0 (recently moved back home)

Mandatory Monthly expenses:
Bus Pass: $151
Cell Phone: $45
Groceries: $100

That leaves with me about $2300 for savings and other stuff (entertainment). I also don't plan to move out of my parents place until I can afford to buy a place. (Renting in Vancouver is insane!)

Can anyone give me some advice as to how/what I should start saving and where?

I've been thinking about opening an ING Savings acct to start saving my 15% automatically. Good idea?

What should I do with my savings that I currently have?

What kind of savings should I have? I've read about tierd savings...

How do I start investing? How much do I need to begin? I should have a good nest egg first before I can start investing correct? Or is it too early for me to even think about investing?

I don't know where to start! Help! Thanks, I look forward to hearing from you knowledgeable ppl!

·
Banned
429 Posts