Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm Rysto. I'm a 25-year-old software programmer from Ontario. Several months ago I got into index investing, and now I'm ready to start making the transition from mutual funds to ETFs, so I figure that this is a good time to review my plan. My asset allocation is quite aggressive: 30% US Equity, 30% Intl. Equity, 20% Canadian Equity and 20% Canadian Bonds(this may sound slightly familiar to a certain Capitalist). Currently my assets look like this(I have no debt):

Cash
$5153 -- TD Chequing
$11119 -- ING Direct Savings

RRSP
$37784 -- TD Balanced Growth Fund
$1635 -- Cash

TFSA
$2251 -- TD Canadian Index (TDB900)
$3311 -- TD US Index (unhedged) (TDB902)
$2031 -- TD Canadian Bond Index (TDB909)
$3474 -- TD Intl. Index (unhedged) (TDB911)

Non-Registered
$1769 -- TD Canadian Index (TDB900)
$2626 -- TD US Index (unhedged) (TDB902)
$1632 -- TD Canadian Bond Index (TDB9009)
$2534 -- TD Intl. Index (unhedged) (TDB911)
$500 -- Cash

My plan is to get into ETFs in the new year, which is why I have spare cash kicking around in a couple of accounts -- I don't want to get hit with an early redemption fee. In January I get an extra $13K in RRSP contribution room; my plan is to sell everything in the non-registered account and withdraw enough from the TFSA(in 2009, of course) to make the full contribution right away. In the RRSP I'm going to buy VTI, VEA and ZAG to hit my allocations, with the remainder of the money going into TDB900. In the TFSA the remainder of my money will go into TDB900.

The reasoning for this rather complicated dance is that I see no reason to hold investments in a non-registered account while I have contribution room in my registered accounts.