Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Banned
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been reading a little about REITS,I started thinking of income trust funds ,but with these having to change in Jan.2011 I don't like investing in them.I am wondering if theres any rush expected for investors to sell the income trusts shares and buy REITS. I have not seen any mention if it so far. It seems to me that with income trusts becoming corporations ,the alternative would be REITS. If this is the likley case ,then would this drive the price of REITS up?
I'm new to this stuff .I'm a long term investor but have not bought anything for over 20 years ,just holding .I'm getting ready to retire and looking for better than the bank GIC's etc.
Neil

·
Registered
3,247 Posts
"It seems to me that with income trusts becoming corporations ,the alternative would be REITS. If this is the likley case ,then would this drive the price of REITS up?"

This phenomenum, if it ever existed, would have been completed in 2006 and perhaps a little in 2007. The income trust tax is old news. Investors are forward thinkers and the new tax would have been calculated for each trust within weeks of the announcement and any new strategies would have been implemented around then.

If anything, you might find buying the income trusts to be more of the opportunity. To take advantage of all those retail investors, that have not learned this important lesson and have undervalued those businesses by not buying them in 2009 and 2010 (thinking in error, that they had more to fall from the tax news).

·
Registered
2,626 Posts
I am wondering if theres any rush expected for investors to sell the income trusts shares and buy REITS.
I think to a large extent, this has already happened.

Most income trusts took a very large hit after the initial announcement of the change in tax status, and have not recovered to pre-crash valuations as most other equities have.