Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm a journalist with the Globe and Mail. I wanted to reach out on this forum because I'm looking for people who might be open to sharing their experiences for a series of articles we are doing on household debt.

I wanted to post this in the Money Diaries forum because reading through it, there are some really interesting and detailed posts from people who are working diligently to pay down their debts and I'm hopeful some people may be willing to share those same stories with the Globe.

There are plenty of studies and reports and surveys that talk about household debt in Canada. Most talk in generalizations, some are quite alarmist and garner a lot of headlines, but don't necessarily paint a true picture of what the average Canadian household is experiencing. We're hoping to delve deeper and talk to people about their personal situation. What does their debt picture look like? How are they managing to afford it and what are they doing to reduce their debt load?

One of main goals of this piece is to demystify and destigmatize the idea of being in debt. A majority (two-thirds) of Canadians carry substantial debts, that includes Canadians rich and poor. Thanks to tuition costs and home prices that are rising faster than incomes, for many people taking on large debts is essential to getting an education and affording a home and their debt loads can be substantial. Low interest rates have helped keep it affordable for people to carry large debts, yet at the same time low interest rates have made it easier to rack up large debts.

If you're interested in sharing your story in the paper, please contact me either by private message or e-mail. My e-mail is tmcmahon at globe and mail dot com.

I'm very happy to have a chat and answer any questions about what we're trying to do.