Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There has been some discussion on several Canadian blogs regarding GICs. One point that has been discussed is whether it would make sense to invest 100% of your RRSP and TFSA in GIC's. I believe that over the longer term indexfunds or ETFs is the way to go but I am no expert. I would like some opinions on the following hypothetical senerio please.

Say you were in your mid 30's and were hoping to retire at 60. You've got about 25 yrs to build a nest egg.
Currently you have approx $200,000 invested in RRSP & TFSA. Half is invested in GIC's the other half in TD e-series funds. No mortgage, no debt. You plan on maxing out RRSP and TFSA for the next 25 yrs ($22,000 for RSP and $5000 each for husband / wife TFSA). Two young kids both with e-series RESP accounts. You live well within your means. In fact you're quite frugal.

If you invest everything you have now along with $32,000 per year for the next 25 yrs in a 5 year ladder GIC, even at 4% return which is the low point in resent years, you'd end up with just shy of $2,000,000 at age 60 plus CPP (providing it is still around) for you and your wife.

Obviously inflation hasn't been taken into account but on the same token the 4% rate is on the low end of historical rates.

Why bother with the ups and downs of the market?

·
Registered
12,742 Posts
Because for the same level of saving invested in a balanced portfolio, you would have 4 or 5 million at retirement. A 2% real return is pretty abysmal.

·
Registered
5,464 Posts
I am not really a proponent of the all-GIC/RRB/TIPS style of investing, but - and at the risk of repeating myself - there are smart people who argue in favour of this approach.

Professor Zvi Bodie is the leading advocate of this approach.

I highly recommend reading his "Worry-Free Investing" to understand his arguments.

Editing to say that Zvi's website includes a lot of videos worth watching, too.

·