Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, here is our situation. I am a nursing student, soon to be graduated in 1.5 years at which point I will join the full time work force (oh joy!). My partner makes around $80,000/year. He does not like money talk, and until I came along had been accruing credit card debt. He struggles with anything to do with money -- he is one of those! Luckily, he makes enough money to make some hella payments, so I got that whole debt thing sorted and we are debt free (discounting my student loans...rats!)

We have $25,000 in the bank just sitting there. And my partner has $10,000 in RRSPs.

We are not wanting to make any big purchases in the next year, so I think we should put our money away into savings. But I don't want the majority of our money to be locked away for a number of years because we want to buy a house within the next 5 years.

Can you suggest how much we should be put into a mutual GIC? We could easily put away for a 1 year GIC, but should we leave our bank to find a better rate? How much should we put into Tax Free Savings Accounts? How much should we contribute to RRSPs? My partner has not been contributing as much as he could to his RRSPs, so this year he can contribute a lot, up to the tens of thousands I believe. This is all so much to consider!

I could really use some ideas. Thanks so much!!!

·
Banned
1,119 Posts