Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, please help.

Are there any tax implications in moving funds from a foreign country to Canada?

If the funds are placed into a bank account the only tax would be annual taxation on any interest, correct?

If funds are gifted is it treated differently. For example if a grand parent gives a grand child 100K ( i wish) the parents would still pay the taxes on the interest?

I am looking for legal strategies to minimize what i pay and would appreciate any insight
PS - already know about RESPs, TFSA and RRSPs

·
Registered
649 Posts
Your bank should take care of withholding non-resident tax on your earnings. Yes, there is kiddie tax, although is the grandchild a Canadian resident or non-resident? If non-resident the post-NR tax earnings are yours to spend/gift as you wish.

·
Banned
429 Posts
I thought there isn't a gift tax in Canada (unlike the US). However, I would think it would be dependent on the laws at the origin as well.

·
Registered
3,423 Posts

Are there any tax implications in moving funds from a foreign country to Canada?

If the funds are placed into a bank account the only tax would be annual taxation on any interest, correct?

If funds are gifted is it treated differently. For example if a grand parent gives a grand child 100K ( i wish) the parents would still pay the taxes on the interest?

I am looking for legal strategies to minimize what i pay and would appreciate any insight
Bootsie - is that the old Bootsie aka Telly?

·
Registered
3,197 Posts

There is no gift tax in Canada. However if money is given to a minor child, there are attribution rules that tax earnings on that money in the hands of the donor. (So rich people can't avoid taxes on their assets by transferring them to minor children.)