Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Long time reader and first time poster. I was referred here a while back by Milliondollarjourney and I've been going back and forth on a daily basis on both sites. Both very resourceful may i say! great job guys.

A close and very reliable friend of my brother's is a realtor and he has this property for sale and I'm in the consideration stage. This is my first time dabbling in the real-estate market. I've always rented. I'm not buying this as my residence, but as a rental property.

I'm just wondering what red flags you guys see.

Here are the stats:

- Reposessed unit
- 2 story building currently has no strata (old building, 1990)
- fairly central location for students (transit, food etc)
- Property is being sold at $25000 less than its current value.
- Monthly rent is $700 (already rented out to Korean students)
- 0-down mortgage would be around $600

I'm meeting with the guy Saturday to check out the place and ask him any questions etc etc.

I was wondering about a couple of things:
1. Can I get the property value re-assessed myself?
2. Are there any hold period for reselling on repossessed places (I'll ask realtor too).

Any other insight would be great.

Thank you.

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
To answer your first question: Yes, you can get your own agent, who can give you an estimated appraisal of the property.

Which I would recommend.

Keep in mind you are buying a property from someone who makes money when it sells. Period. If it is such a good deal why didn't the agent snap it up himself.

And get a home inspection. Why would someone sell, at potentially the top of the market, for a $25K reduction, if the place is already rented with positive cash flow? If it is a repo bank sale, how did the first owner not make payments if they covered the mortgage? Maybe the appraisal is too high. I dunno.