Canadian Money Forum banner
1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
3,131 Posts
I'd like to get more copper, but not sure
I've been enjoying the ride with ERO. Bought in 2020 and I'm currently at +90%. Pretty volatile ride, but it's been going up.

I also have KL which I bought in 2020 and I added more recently. I'm waiting patiently.

·
Registered
3,131 Posts
I'm getting flashbacks of 2017. Sell your bonds! Buy short term bonds! Preferred shares is the new fixed income! (lol, ridiculous).
In retrospective, buying and holding aggregate bond funds was the right move in 2017. I don't know how it will turn out this time, but I don't think you can go wrong by sticking to ZAG, XBB or VAB. And I believe that's true even if this year and the next are negative. I'm crazy, right?
Maybe, but how far in the negative must the rates go before a majority of people start agreeing? Do you think people in Switzerland are buying bonds? I'm no expert, it's just an open question.

·
Registered
3,131 Posts
@MrBlackhill too ... "actively" navigating markets and using facile logic to reposition oneself does not work. It's a losing strategy in the long term and studies have shown this.
Studies are not advice, they are a piece of information. This piece of information tells us about the risk and the distribution of that risk in the specific context of that study (population, methodology, hypotheses, etc).

If you are given a test that 95% fail but you are also given the choice to skip it and get the average score, you're the kind of person who would choose to skip it and you'd be happy with the average. I'm the kind of person who would be excited to take my chances.

When you're passionate about a subject, you don't want to be passive about it.

I never regret taking risks because that's how you learn the most and that's how you live the best experiences and adventures.

Yeah, these kinds of moods appear every once in a while. It's just human nature I suppose.