Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I’m a Quebec student in civil engineering. I have 5 traineeships during my degree and now I have a ****load of cash that I don’t need. I was investing in a NBC fund with a MER of 2.5% (yeah) and now I decided to open a brokerage account.

I’m now setting my portfolio and investing only in my TFSA until it’s full (26k$). I can invest 25k$ right now. I have some questions for you :
• Why investing in Canadian securities when Canada and US are so close?
• Do I need to diversify when I want to buy some ETFs with more than 2500 companies in each?

Here’s my newly portfolio (I didn’t buy anything yet) :
• VUN (3500 companies, all cap) : 40%
• VAB (I like long-term Canada bonds) : 20%
• XAW (more than 2000 companies worldwide, a good portion in developed and emergent countries, with US index) : 35%
• Canadian stocks, for gambling (I like LRE or SWY) 5%

It’s a portfolio of 3 ETFs with some stocks, so it doesn’t cost so much to rebalance.

My main question is : Do I really need to buy bonds, when I have over 5000 companies worldwide? I can figure that you need to diversify when you only buy stocks and bonds, but with 5k companies I think it’s enough diversified.

Thanks for your help!:)
PS.: Excuse my English!

·
Registered
133 Posts
i'm relatively new to the world of investment too...so yea

VUN and XAW overlaps on USA stocks. So you probably don't need VUN if you have XAW unless you want to overweight on US.

Canada and US are indeed separate economies, and although US has large influences on Canadian businesses, there are years of Canada stock going better than US and some otherwise. Plus domestic stocks provides better tax treatment and i think it yields more than US now.