Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Banned
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone,
So I just read the news about Encanas retreat into gas exploration etc. Now I will say I do own some EnCana stock. Although I am interested to know if anyone is thinking like news articles ive seen.

I guess the big question is.... should I immediately get out of my EnCana position because of retreating prices? Today it went down by almost 3.5% and Encana said it is prepared to retreat even more from its growth plan even further if gas prices remain low.

Now I am still new to this, should I be following the wave and get out of my Encana position, my father also has a position in this company and has double the amount of shares I have, would it be a good idea to get out before I lose too much money? Any idea how long it would take to rebound? Anyone have any suggestions for me.

I know that Encana is one of the biggest gas producers in North America and they are a massive company but if their stock price is going to fall because of this "gas price fall" would that be good reason to get out or should I hold out?

The stock does pay nice dividends but it may just not be worth it if the price is gonna hit the floor.

EDIT: I know its not a good idea to ride the fear of other investors although I figure it would be nice to get others opinions aswell.

Here is the Globe/Mail article:
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/globe-investor/encana-retreating-from-growth-plan/article1764731/

·
Banned
356 Posts
Nat gas prices have been down for a long time and continue to go down slowly. It's prudent for Encana to do this. A lot of other companies have done the same since the price of gas is down. Companies have found too many large deposits of gas and cheap ways of getting it.

If supply dwindles because of use or because of companies shutting down their natural gas operations, then prices may slowly increase.