1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am owner, my wife is director
No active income, just passive, from stocks and ETFs
Still have some expenses with one of the cars which is owned by the corp

How can I get money out of the corp? Dividends?
My wife has a huge RRSP room and ideally I would like to pay her

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
This is the second time I saw some reference to "the corp". What does that mean? Did you and your wife incorporate a investment holding company like Berkshire Hathaway?
no is a small business, canadian controlled private corporation that has money in its accounts but the business has been stopped for a while

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well, I'm no lawyer or accountant. I was hoping someone else more knowledgeable would have posted before I did so I could learn a few things too.

But this is my take so if you find anything plausible, investigate it further.

I saw a youtube video explaining how the rich get paid without actually recieving income. They take out a loan from the bank using the business as collateral. Then the interest on the loan is deducted as a business expense and you get the income in the form of a bank loan. I think the corporation's passive income to pay back that bank loan would dictate how much you can borrow.
that means you have other assets in that business
you can't take a loan and use collateral a business that has a car as the only asset and money. They will say "You already have money"
if you mean personal loan then I do not see how you expense the interest paid

·
Registered
2,641 Posts
My question back to any loan company asking that question would be what good would collateral be? But I'm not here to argue back and forth especially when I'm not a professional in this field.

I think this is the video in which I got that idea.

Start at 3:41 but be sure to view earlier to get the context.