Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Banned
356 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I'm self employed, incorporated. What is the main differences between paying myself a dividend and a salary? advantages of each?

When does doing BOTH make sense?

Any good books or places to find a very detailed explanation?

I have been paying myself a salary but am considering paying myself a dividend as a type of bonus so that I put some money into my RRSP account.

Thanks!

·
Registered
10,625 Posts
First the disclaimer - I'm not an expert so if anything I write sounds appealing, make sure you check it out with the appropriate authorities. :)

Re: Differences between being paid a salary versus dividend by my incorporation

Salary is 100% taxable, Dividends are tax at a smaller percentage.
Salary has a pro of building RRSP room and a con of how much is taxed.
Dividends are the opposite.

Also - I recall reading once that you could pay yourself a certain amount of dividends per year without paying tax. I'm not sure if there were steps required to set this up.

Re: When does both make sense?

Hmmm ... I could see where if you paid the whole amount as salary, you might be pushed into a higher tax bracket but using dividends for a part might keep you in the lower tax bracket.

Re: Good books ...

I haven't needed to investigate so sorry, no ideas other than checking with an accountant or googling it.

Re: Pay Dividends as bonus to put in RRSP

Bear in mind that the Dividends will increase your income more slowly and thus your RRSP room. As long as the RRSP room exists, the dividends would minimize the tax hit compared to salary. Though I would investigate the tax-free dividends first.

Here's a couple of links that might help:
http://accxpert.canadaebiz.com/?p=278
http://blog.taxresource.ca/7-ways-to-get-money-out-of-your-corporation/

Cheers

·
Registered
9 Posts
From a Personal Perspective: