Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to stocks. I've done a lot of reading in the past 2-3 years but haven't mustered enough courage yet to actually start. Aside from basic index funds, I would like to start with dividends, because they pay quarterly, from my understanding. I do have a few questions regarding dividends.

Some things I'm a bit confused about is how dividends are paid out and at what frequency. If you look at the bank of ireland (http://www.google.com/finance?q=NYSE:IRE), according to google, it only shows the dividends it payed since May 2008, is that because they aren't paying out or because google isn't tracking it?

What influences the dividend price? A few days ago it was at 80% now its at 53% for bank of ireland. I understand that the stock price goes up and down, but where is the dividend price listed?

RBC also offers a dividend fund, how would that work? Do they average out the dividends per quarter and pay them out?

As for index funds, is it best to signup for an scotia-itrade account and get a basic S&P 500 index like SPY, or could anyone offer a better broker or index fund?

Thanks!

·
Registered
22 Posts
Welcome to the forum of enlightenment! First of all, it is great to hear you are taking a disciplined approach to investing.

As far as your question about that google finance page re: bank of Ireland, it only shows dividends since may since that is the time period that the chart defaults to. If you stretch the bar just below the graph all the way to the left you can see back to 1997 and all the dividends (and split in 1999).

What influences dividend price? The board. More importantly, how profitable the company is (more profits = higher dividends, generally).