Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a day trader and am at a point where I am now consistently making money. After reading the CRA website, I realized that my profits will now be taxed as income rather than capital gain.

Someone suggested I can register a corporation and that way, I will be able to trade as an employee of that corporation and draw out a salary.

Would this help me pay less taxes ?

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
You should discuss the potential set up of a corporation and the tax implications with your accountant.

·
Registered
5,464 Posts
It really depends on how much money you are consistently able to leave in the corporation.

The lower tax rates for a corporation really only work if you are not drawing out everything you make.

There's a basic cut-off point, too, where the higher costs of incorporation are offset by the tax-sheltering potential - the last time I ran the numbers (for Ontario) I pegged it at about $200K gross, leaving a relatively substantial amount in the corporation, to offset the higher additional costs associated with establishing and running a corporation.

There are other considerations and advantages associated with incorporating beyond tax-sheltering, and some of them play out over very long timeframes (I'm mostly thinking about the capacity to income-split and to roll assets over to family members, especially as the corporation winds down).

Of course, you will need to build your own models and get advice beyond an anonymous Internet forum...

·
Registered
333 Posts
Professional subscriber fees are something you need to think about when trading under the corporation. Many brokers will have a higher data fee structure (or additional ones) as the corporation is categorized as a professional account.

Agree with the folks above - talk to your accountant.

·
Registered
15 Posts