Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
If I've been a Canadian resident all my life, but decided to take an early retirement at age 55, how is my CPP effected? If I hold off until age 65, do I still receive maximum payments (even though I haven't been working for the last 10 years (55 to 65)? What about if I decide to receive my CPP at age 60?

All the documents I've read always discuss taking CPP at age 60 and take a penalty (0.5%/month before age 65), however, how does it work if you retire at age 55 and then wait to collect your payments?

Thanks!

·
Banned
407 Posts
Early retirement may not be beneficial

New changes have been made to reduce the benefit of early retirement. Now max. pension is reduced 0.6% per month if retiring before 65 (but after age 60). Conversely, pension amounts are raised 0.6% per month if retirement delayed past 65 (up to age 70).

See www.fin.gc.ca/n08/data/09-051_1-eng.asp

My understanding is that you have to be 60 to receive CPP i.e. live on other savings between 55-60.

·
Registered
500 Posts
The short answer is no, you won’t get your maximum CPP benefit if you get out of the workforce at age 55 and wait until age 65 to collect... The formula for calculating CPP benefits allows for the exclusion of certain low-income periods within the overall measurement period, but the 10 years that you’re talking about is more than the basic exclusion. It’s a relatively simple formula and you can set up a spreadsheet to model various “what-if?” scenarios.

The rules have changed recently ... it used to be a 0.5% reduction factor if you elect to begin CPP before age 65, but for anyone whose CPP starts on or after 2011, the reduction factor is 0.6%, and if you delay past age 65, then your benefit increases by 0.7%. The 15% exclusion factor referred to above will also be bumped up to 17%.