Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Banned
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok long story short, I'm a divorced lady, my ex bitter husband, racked up our joint sears card (on furniture for his new wife) 4 years ago, I didn't know about these charges until it was in the R9 status, and as they coudlnt' collect from him, they collected from me, I've been paying off his 5K for the past 4-5 years. And finally made my FINAL payment Feb 15th.

I sent a fax in *everything for me always has to be in writing*
Saying HERE your last of the money, please cancel my account and send me appropriate proof and documents to XXXXXXX

Never heard anything, Just got back from the Bank to get a loan (first ever!) and they said they can't, becuase a balance is still showing my Sears Card, and I need to supply them with proof the account is closed, and paid up. And my Equifax shows R9 AS OF MARCH 1st (15 days after I paid my balance!)

I think this should be easy enough. i call SEARS CARd, punch in my card # Says I have an outstanding balance of 3$ Far from what the lady at the bank was saying I owe (over 500$) ... press zero like a madman and talk to a lady that say "I can't view your account, I'll pass you through to someone" comes back in a minute "Thier line is busy here is their direct line"

JP Morgan National Collectiosn or some sheet ... well no matter WHAT I press it's an answering machine ...

Has anyone successsfully closed down one of these cards?
My mom just got back from SEARS and she has a zero $ balance, and was charged 3$ interest on a Zero balance statement, tried to cancel her card but couldn't ... wtf

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
If it were me. I would keep hounding sears for a paper statement to prove that the balance has been paid. Get and keep all contact #'s.

Us those #'s to give to Equifax to contact to verify. They won't take the paper statement.

Then have the bank do the check for the loan.