Canadian Money Forum banner

Canadian Couch Potato

4K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  AltaRed 
#1 ·
I'm in my late 20s and want to start my retirement fund. I've been saving for an extravagant around-the-world trip but 2020 happened :( I've decided to put all this money into my TFSA and RRSP fund.

I have no experience with investments, and I want to spend as little time as possible managing my investments but get the best returns. I won't be withdrawing this money until I retire.

I came across the Canadian Couch Potato website and it looks like a very hands-off minimalistic investment strategy. Since I already bank with TD, I figured I would follow their TD e-Series model portfolio where I would be investing my money in four index funds.

This strategy seems too simple to be true. Can anyone point out any negative points against the Canadian Couch Potato TD e-Series Funds strategy?

#2 ·
I believe they still call for 25% in Canadian equity funds overall? This has been disastrous for many and underperformed a simple S&P fund the last 12 years. Personally this has cost me hundreds of thousands but the advocates of this will say oh yea but what about the dividends and the dividend tax credit? Yea I'd rather have the Ferrari then many of the useless no to low growth companies that litter the Canadian index. Go for growth, for tech, go for the future.

#5 ·
I believe they still call for 25% in Canadian equity funds overall? This has been disastrous for many and underperformed a simple S&P fund the last 12 years. Personally this has cost me hundreds of thousands
No idea what you're talking about. The TSX index return over the last 12 years is roughly 9.2% (using XIU) which is a tremendously strong return. Absolutely nobody is losing in this game if they are getting 9.2% CAGR

#3 ·
This strategy seems too simple to be true. Can anyone point out any negative points against the Canadian Couch Potato TD e-Series Funds strategy?