Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
16,346 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just a reminder that CERB applications are being accepted this week. Log in via CRA's My Account for Individuals and there is a link through there. This is for people who are not currently using EI. To be eligible, you must have had more than $5000 employment income in the previous year, and stopped working / had income stop for at least 14 days:
Canada Emergency Response Benefit - Canada.ca

In other words this is for people who were employed last year, had to stop working due to the virus, and are not on EI.

I just submitted my application. I'm a small business owner (consultant) who had income loss due to COVID-19. When the outbreak started, I was travelling, and was forced to quarantine and isolate. I was not able to work for several weeks for various associated reasons, such as my European partners going into lockdown and stopping payments.

·
Registered
16,346 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I’m curious what the application process is like and how the govt is policing it. Is there any proof-checking?
The application is a series of forms and declarations that are completed through the CRA portal. That part was pretty easy, you read and agree to the criteria.

Since CRA administers this, I assume they will check the data against existing tax records. For example I'm sure they would deny you if you don't have the qualifying employment income. Though, people haven't filed 2019 taxes yet, so CRA can't really know (yet) that you had income last year.

One abuse I can imagine are people who are unemployed, but pretend they are self-employed just to get CERB's free money. I would think CRA could easily confirm that the 2020 tax filing shows employment income from business activities.

·
Registered
698 Posts
Wonder what the student benefits will be once they’re rolled out....and will high schoolers benefit.