Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2,827 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is your take on investing in competing companies to limit your losses? Say, buying stock in both Bell and Rogers - Being the two dominant providers in Canada, if one goes down the other will surely go up, right?

Or Sobeys and Loblaws, for example. I mean people gotta eat and make phone calls after all.

This may all be hogwash, I'm very new to investing (and poor) with only a couple years of playing with mutual funds from my bank. I'll have a substantially higher income once I'm out of school though and want to learn how to work with my money so I'm not completely clueless and lose everything in the first few years.

·
Banned
14 Posts
Telus could prosper at the expense of Bell and Rogers.

If selecting individual stocks, I would choose only one, the one I think will achieve the highest return. For me it means fewer annual reports to read each year : )

·
Registered
274 Posts
If I was concerned with diversification I'd buy a stock of a company in a different industry. While it is true that if one is doing well at the expense of the other they'd balance out, it is also true that when the industry suffers they all do... to varrying degrees of course.

·
Banned
424 Posts
It is generally better to diversify between asset classes (e.g. stocks, bonds, cash, commodities, reits) and different industries first, before you invest in a second company in the same industry. They tend to go up and down together. You will get more reliable returns if your investments do not correlate with each other.