Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I invested heavily in two bond funds in December thinking they would be low-risk compared to the overpriced market. I then sold them on March 9th when it was pretty clear that investors were just putting money into bonds to get out of the market. So far so good.

However both of these funds dropped by 4-5% today. Much better than the rest of the market, but still a significant decline for bonds. Interest rates hadn't changed, dividends weren't announced etc. I'm assuming this was just due to investors panicking and pulling out everything to cash.

BMO Discount Bond Index ETF (ZDB.TO) and Vanguard Canadian Aggregate Bond Index ETF (VAB.TO)

I'm considering buying back in tomorrow (for bonds) just because they offer a slightly better return than cash. But the risk still seems relatively high.

I'm not a bond expert by any means. Was the drop in value today a reflection of risk that some of the companies will default on their bonds?

·
Registered
912 Posts
The credit quality w VAB is fine. I just think it is buying and selling and maybe a little liquidity. There was a ton of buying in these ETFs earlier this month. I looked at XBB. ~ 1.4M shares bought Mar 2, price rose 5%. In the last 2 days there has been a lot of selling ~ .8M and the price fell back about the same amount.

Gold also fell ~ $100 from its earlier peak or ~6.5%. People selling to cover margin?

·
Registered
9,930 Posts
Check closing prices of today versus the posted NAV for those bond ETFs today off the BMO and Vanguard websites. I am guessing you will find some disturbing spreads between Closing prices and NAV. If I am correct, there are a few reasons for that: