Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
795 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to the world of ETFs and fixed income investing. I’m heavily invested in Canadian dividend producing stocks.

I’m looking for some recommendations on bond ETFs and thoughts on the general outlook with what appears to be sustained low (and falling) rates.

Any major differences between the big ETFs......Xbb, zag, vab?

Thanks

·
Registered
16,700 Posts
One factor is your time horizon. XBB/ZAG/VAB all have an average term to maturity of 10 years, so they are appropriate only if your time horizon is something on the 10+ year time scale. For people who are starting retirement and withdrawals sooner, a short term bond ETF could be more appropriate (like XSB or XSH). Or a mix of XSH + XBB so that you can choose to take withdrawals out of the more stable short-term fund.

The last time I looked at these in detail, I found that XBB/ZAG/VAB were all pretty equivalent and I don't think you'll go wrong with any of them.

Personally I prefer XBB just because it's the oldest, and iShares has experience managing this through two bear markets. XBB came through the 2007-2009 credit crisis like a champ, and that counts for something. If I had to pick one of the three that I thought would fare best through a catastrophe of never before seen levels, I would guess XBB and that's why I hold (a lot) of it in my RRSP.

·
Registered
991 Posts
The stat to look at is yield to maturity which is the return you can expect for the weighted maturity of the bond ETF. For the big ETFs mentioned it is ~ now 1.84% before fees over ~ 8-10 yrs. I don't know if now is the best time given those yields to invest in bonds given eveyrone has been piling into them driving prices up and yields down.