Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 912 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Read an article about this stock the other day,, after reviewing it and seeing its down quite a bit I thought maybe a good buy? But i'm also a complete newb to the market. What does everyone else think?

·
Registered
4,044 Posts
I wouldn't personally buy it.

However, if you bought a few thousand shares, it could be a profitable trade or a profitable long term hold.

I'd say you would need to buy at least 2000 shares for it to be worthwhile.

And then if things don't go your way, you might be out the money. :(

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I wouldn't personally buy it.

However, if you bought a few thousand shares, it could be a profitable trade or a profitable long term hold.

I'd say you would need to buy at least 2000 shares for it to be worthwhile.

And then if things don't go your way, you might be out the money. :(
Why so many shares for it to be profitable
I bought 260 :|

·
Registered
4,044 Posts
260 is fine if you are talking longer-term.

I meant 2000 for trading purposes, to get in quickly and get out quickly.

The problem with 260 shares is that if it bounces between $3.50 and $3.90 for a while, and you bought in at $3.65, there's not much profit to be made and your money could be better used elsewhere, especially since the dividend is around only 2.6% right now. There are a lot of companies paying upwards of 4% right now with stable business models and steady cash flow.

From 3.65 to 3.90, you'd make a profit of $65.00 before commissions on 260 shares.

From $3.65 to $3.70, you'd make a profit of $100.00 before commissions on 2000 shares.

See what I mean? It's a lot easier to have the stock go up 0.05/share and cash out for almost 1.5x the profit, as opposed to having the stock go up 5x as much, for only 65% of the profit you could have made with the 2000 shares.

Obviously, losses are magnified with 2000 shares, as well.

·
Registered