Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Banned
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am a newbie just recently started experimenting with stocks trading via TD Waterhouse. Just wondering for companies that pay dividends (e.g. SunLife etc.), under what conditions will I receive any form of dividends, and in what ways. Thanks.

·
Registered
7,252 Posts
Hi, I am a newbie just recently started experimenting with stocks trading via TD Waterhouse. Just wondering for companies that pay dividends (e.g. SunLife etc.), under what conditions will I receive any form of dividends, and in what ways. Thanks.
The dividend will show up as cash in your account the day after the official payment date, assuming you held the stock on the record date.
Some brokerages, including TDW, offer a dividend re-investment plan (DRIP) for certain stocks.
If you sign up for such a plan, the brokerage will automatically buy the maximum possible whole number of shares it can with the amount of dividend.
I suggest buy the dividend stock of your selection and wait a few quarters to experience how the dividend payments work before you decide to sign up for DRIP plans.

·
Banned
45 Posts
I recently added BMO's REIT Index ETF to my wife's RRSP account at BMO investoreline. Because it makes up a really low percentage of the account, if I do not choose to follow through with the DRIP, the dividends will just sit there doing nothing. BMO's minimums are so high for anything that involes short term interest. In this case does it make sense to implement a DRIP right away?

·
Banned
156 Posts
I recently added BMO's REIT Index ETF to my wife's RRSP account at BMO investoreline. Because it makes up a really low percentage of the account, if I do not choose to follow through with the DRIP, the dividends will just sit there doing nothing. BMO's minimums are so high for anything that involes short term interest. In this case does it make sense to implement a DRIP right away?