Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read a lot of personal financial evaluations and thought it was time I added mine to the mix. I have been doing a quarterly net worth calc since 2010 and have annual numbers before that until 1998. I'm personally quite pleased with where we sit but always feel I could or should have done better.

Background:
Married couple both 40yo.
3 Kids, 12yo, 8yo, and 2yo.
I work as an Independent Consultant and my wife takes care of the bookkeeping and administrative side of the business.

Goals:
My short term goal is to hit 2mil in investable assets and 3 mil net worth. Longer term goal is to retire as soon as possible but maybe continue to do the odd job. I feel a 4mil net worth should allow me to retire and feel that I can reach this by 2022 may continue to work until 5mil in 2024.

Current State:
Our company has averaged a net of $350K a year for the last 5 years. We take a total salary of around $240K a year but this varies. Money left in the business is invested, I've looked at it as our pension.

Assets:
House - $612K
Vehicles - $54K
NRSP - $263K
RRSPs - $545K
TFSAs - $118K
RESPs - $96K
Cash - $54K
Business - $872K

Total Assets - $2,614,000

Liabilities:
Credit Cards - $14K (credit cards are payed off every month)

Net Worth: $2,600,000

I've tried different investment 'strategies' over the years including penny stocks, 2nd mortgages, rental income property, self managed investment accounts, and crypto. I've been lucky enough to not lose on most of those but have decided to let experts manage my money. I still play a bit but 90% of our investments are with professionals.

I welcome any questions, comments, suggestions, or personal wisdom.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
July 1st 2018 Quarterly Update.

Assets:
House - $617K
Vehicles - $54K
NRSP - $278K
RRSPs - $554K
TFSAs - $124K
RESPs - $100K
Cash - $59K
Business - $948K

Total Assets - $2,733,000