Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
446 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New user here. I searched the forums for Mortgage-Backed Securities ("MBS") and was surprised to find nothing.

I have no experience with them but they seem appealing. According to the TD website:

Key Benefits

* Safest Canadian investments available in Canada, regardless of the size of the investment.
* Fully guaranteed principal and interest when held to maturity.
* Provides guaranteed regular payments of income.
* Very competitive yields.
* High degree of liquidity.
* Low minimum investment required.
* RSP/RRIF eligible.

Any thoughts on the pros/cons of MBS's? The minimum investment is $5000 which is perfect for my new TDW TFSA acct.

TIA

·
Registered
1 Posts
MBS info

I am also a new user here, and this is my first post, so glad to be able to give some info on something I know. Very few in my bank were familiar with them when I first started investing in them.

I have had 4 or 5 MBSs over the past few years and have always been pleased with them as they are easy to buy and set up.

Yes, they are safe and fully guaranteed.

I believe the minimum amount is $5,000 tho, and return is a bit of capital plus the interest which is more. Payment is monthly.

However, rates right now are similar to GICs.

There is a secondary market for them, but best to hold them to maturity, which can vary.

·
Registered
343 Posts
First of all, there are multiple types of mortgage-backed securities (MBSs). Some are simply "pass-through securities", which flow the payments of interest and principal to the investor without any fancy structuring. Other MBSs have a tranche structure designed to give the investor some protection from defaults and prepayments. These are made by pooling bunches of pass-through securities.