Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

I heard that someone who never invested in a TFSA is not constrained by the usual yearly limit and that he/she could open a TFSA and invest something like $50000 or a little more.

I am trying to see if that opportunity is applicable in my case. I have been a permanent resident of Canada for 2 years and do not have any TFSA at the moment. In past, I lived in Canada for many years as a foreign student.

Am I eligible for the ~$50K investment limit or just for the carried-over amounts of last 2 years?

Any wise advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
10,517 Posts
... I heard that someone who never invested in a TFSA is not constrained by the usual yearly limit and that he/she could open a TFSA and invest something like $50000 or a little more.
The annual TFSA contribution amount is just one factor in the formula that determines the final TFSA contribution room (i.e. the constriction on the total one can contribute). This will also change as one makes contributions/withdrawals so I like to keep a running total so I know the exact number, as I make changes. One can wait for CRA to have the numbers reported to them ... but depending on the timing of some actions, their number may not be accurate.

Available TFSA contribution room = Current Annual TFSA contribution room that one meets the requirements for + unused TFSA contribution room were one met the requirements in the year it was granted + last year's TFSA withdrawals - contributions as they are made.

What matters is what is available to you, based on the years of eligibility and your actions. The "never used a TFSA = $50K+ available TFSA contribution room" has assumptions built in that if they don't hold true, one could have less TFSA contribution room than the $50K+ number. If the assumptions are true - that it is likely accurate.