Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. It's my first time on this site. I was hoping to get advice about getting into a trade job.

I'm a 33 year old certified teacher in Ontario, and have been doing supply teaching for the past 2 years. We make about $32/hour before deductions.

I've had several gigs as a full time teacher, and the stress of dealing with report cards, parents, and ridiculous behaviour from kids is making me think I might be happier staying as a simple supply teacher, but moonlighting as a tradesperson, especially in summers and during the other school breaks.

How possible is it to complete an apprenticeship while teaching? Do I have to give up teaching 100% until I complete my apprenticeship? Would an employer be willing to take me on for just certain times of the year, or maybe just for partial hours? What trade will be the most profitable in Ontario? I was thinking electrician perhaps, but maybe someone can suggest an alternative?

Please let me know your thoughts everyone! Thanks so much!

·
Registered
748 Posts
I don't know if there are any rules for how long you are allowed to take to complete your apprenticeship. But I would say that yes, you should give up teaching 100% until you complete your apprenticeship. It takes about a year working regular full time hours to complete a work experience + 2 months in school cycle (here in Alberta, I imagine it's the same in ON). That way you are also focusing entirely on learning the trade... if you spread it out you might forget things along the way / not be able to apply what you learn.

Plus I know some employers who wouldn't like having an apprentice with an irregular schedule because you want to sub, so job opportunities might thin out with that limitation.