Canadian Money Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,237 Posts
Seriously, how the hell does one even open these CDS Innovations spreadsheets? Now I'm trying it with Microsoft Excel 2011. When I open the spreadsheet, I get a question about macros. I said to Enable macros, and now Excel tells me: "Compile error in hidden module: ThisWorkbook". The resulting spreadsheet is blank -- nothing visible.

Even if you manage to open these, I doubt that these are going to work as proof/collateral for the long term since they are not easy to open. You really think the CRA is going to be able to open one of these spreadsheets 10 years in the future?

I have a masters degree in Computer Engineering.
It works for me on 2 computers, both Win10, one Excel 2010, the other Excel 2013.

1) Opens with a yellow banner that says "Protected View Be careful bla blah blah Enable Editing", and below that it says in red "Sorry you must enable macros...". At this point i just click "Enable Editing" in the top yellow banner.

2) Another yellow banner that says "Security Warning Macros have been enabled with the same red "Sorry you must enable macros". At this point click "Enable Content" and the sheet opens. I did not have to go into options or settings to enable macros at all, just click the Enable buttons on the sheet.

Is that not your experience?

Also I think someone else mentioned upthread that BMO reports in %, whereas iShares and Vanguard report in $.

·
Registered
1,237 Posts
I'll have to search the thread to be sure of my memory that the CDS Innovations sheets use %.

When I checked 2015 ZLB distribution charge on BMO's web site against yahoo's historical dividends, the dates & $ matched. It seems clear BMO's web site is reporting $$, just as iShares and from what I recall, Vanguard does.

Cheers

PS

The OP in post # 5 says the CDS Innovations is by %.