Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Banned
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone:

First-time poster and total investment newbie here. Just sold our house because 1) We no longer want a mortgage, and 2) I do think we're in the midst of a fairly large housing price correction. It's already happening in the smaller towns, and I believe it'll soon make its way to even the "bubbliest" of cities. But that's a different topic. :)

So, my wife and I now have nearly a half million dollars to invest (virtually all from the sale proceeds of the house), and no debts. We have no house, but at least we have no debts. I'm 52, she's 51. We're deciding what to do with the money. We are not financial risk-takers. And we woudl like to keep things fairly "liquid" in case we buy another, less expenisve, mortgage-free house in the spring in case the market's flooded with all the houses that aren't selling right now.

We're immediately going to open TFSAs and maximize them. I'm also considering placing $200K into a straight-up high-interest savings account at Ally or one of those online Manitoba credit unions. But that still leaves us with $250,000. I'm trying to study and learn as much as possible, but I'm just wondering if I can get some suggestions from the folks on this forum. Maybe I can have my eyes opened to something I hadn't thought of before.

Thanks in advance to anyone who replies.

·
Banned
81 Posts
I am not sure of how much knowledge you currently have with investing but my reccomendation would be to check out a few ETFs in Canada and/or US ones. I do reccomend checking out Canadian Couch Potato at...
http://canadiancouchpotato.com/model-portfolios/

its a great website to get an idea of what an ETF portfolio would look like. Also consider IF you are not big risk takers dividend paying stocks. As in why not generate monthly income with that large amount of money aswell as using DRIPs to grow your capital :).