Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It is my first time to recive yearly bonus and it came to my knowledge that 46% of it will be deducted as tax. and no tax return will be issued.
is this true?

Thanks a lot

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
It is my first time to recive yearly bonus and it came to my knowledge that 46% of it will be deducted as tax. and no tax return will be issued.
is this true?
Whether it is true, I have no idea. But it is usual for the employer to withhold a portion of any employment income as income tax deducted at source. This will be reflected in your T4 which will show the total income you earned and the total amount of taxes deducted at source. Whether you get any back from Her Majesty after you file your tax return would depend on a lot of factors, but for most people with only employment income the amount deducted at source is more than enough to cover taxes and they get some back.

·
Registered
939 Posts
CPP and EI should also be deducted. Is that included in the 46%? My bonus always had income tax, CPP and EI deducted. As noted above, the tax deducted at source will be reconciled when you do your income tax return. CPP and EI deductions will mean you will reach the maximum contribution earlier in the year, assuming your income level will put you at max contribution for both items.

·
Registered
10,517 Posts
It is my first time to receive yearly bonus and it came to my knowledge that 46% of it will be deducted as tax. and no tax return will be issued.

is this true?
Yes and No.

I haven't received a yearly bonus in a while but for the overtime worked, it's pretty much been the same situation. As others have noted, more than just income tax is deducted.

My understanding is that the employer has to withhold taxes as if one was paid that amount, for every pay cheque, through the year. This means the tax is over-stated.