Canadian Money Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I am a total newbie when it comes to investing. I currently have 200K sitting in a savings account generating 1.8% interest. I do not need this money for the foreseeable future. I am simply wondering if the following would be a better choice; take the 200K in cash and invest it accordingly:

-50K in BNS
-50K in CNR
-50K in BCE
-50K in FTS

My plan is to buy and hold the above. Can anyone tell me why this wouldn't be a good idea?

·
Registered
3,123 Posts
Well, it's not very diversified, and it's 100% equity.

I think that something like VBAL or VGRO (or XBAL/XGRO if you prefer) would be better, depending on your age/time horizon.

·
Registered
2,977 Posts
Well, it's not very diversified, and it's 100% equity.

Yeah, for sure.

The OP has told us very little about their goals, etc.

And now they want to switch from 100% cash to 100% equities?

Realize these equities could offer a total return of quite a bit below zero over many years?

ltr

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the responses. I'm not interested in Index Funds or ETF's.

I am simply wondering whether the stocks I chose will be better than holding that cash in a savings account. I know nobody can predict the future, but any additional insight, remarks will be appreciated.

·
Registered
847 Posts
If you have a well-padded emergency fund (at least 6 months of expenses, preferably one year), then you can invest those savings into stocks, provided you have a long time horizon (20+ years). The stocks you have chosen seem good, but it also depends on what other stocks you have in your portfolio. Given those are sizable positions, you could be more diversified by buying 10 stocks, each for 20k each. So you would add another bank to BNS, another utility to FTS, etc. You could also consider buying a few USA or international stocks.